Re-generating a TOC in FrameMaker


Recently, one of my friend who is also a TW, came across with an issue while updating the book in FrameMaker. The issue is quite simple.

She generated a Table of Contents (TOC). She has got some five chapters in a book. Later, she included some content in one of those five chapters and updated the book. Now she has to re-generate a new TOC again. But she was not able to carry out the task.

After getting an e-mail from her, I tried to reproduce the same scenario. I just wanted to get the same error message so that I can investigate the problem in detail. So, I created five dummy chapters, included in a book and generated a TOC. Now, I included some content in one of the chapter, saved and updated the book. Here is the climax. I tried to re-generate the TOC, yes, I got it without any error. 🙂

So what went wrong in her case…?

The solution was so simple:  I kept all the five chapters open and minimized while re-generating the TOC. But she closed all those chapters and tried to re-generate a TOC.  Though simple, quite annoying, right..?

She was also surprised and raised one valid query.

Should we keep open all the chapters even if we have 100 chapters in the book..?

My answer is still ‘YES’ though sounds ridiculous. Only Adobe people can give a convincing answer for this query, I believe.  🙂

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Re-generating a TOC in FrameMaker”

  1. Savannah Says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  2. Working with Bookmarks in Adobe PDFs « A Writer's Day Says:

    […] with Bookmarks in Adobe PDFs By Rengaraman  Recently, the same friend raised one interesting query. It looked very simple. Here we […]

Leave a Reply

