Correlating the things


I am sorry for not updating this space for quite some time. I was really busy with little personal stuffs, frequent weekend travels, blah blahs. I really ask sorry to those thousands of this blog readers (just kidding).

I really cherish those moments when I watch television ads with my son (18 months old), who likes ads than cartoons. I really surprise on his skills the way he correlates real things with those comes on television. One fine day, I showed a bottle of Dettol hand washer kept near the wash basin when the same product ad appeared on the virtual screen. After a day, same ad came on the screen (of course they sponsor a lot of programs in different channels). He quickly pulled my hands and showed the same bottle kept aside. I was on a pleasant  surprise. He is able to recognize that product colour, shape and that ad sound of course.

Now as a Technical Writer, I am correlating this incident (anecdote) with the user experience. Rather than writing hundred pages user manual, it’s really a good idea to present them with video tutorials, and captivate demos to explore a particular feature of a product. The User will grasp the new things easily by these kinds of visuals than reading hundreds of pages. Of course, it’s human brain’s tendency to correlate things visually than reading or learning by themselves.

Tags:

7 Responses to “Correlating the things”

  1. Karthik Says:

    i agree with u. but one more thing is now days kids are more intelligent than what we think. My daughter who is almost same age as your son , is inserting my pen drive to my computers USB port. I never taught her anything. she just learnt by observing

    • Rengaraman Says:

      You got the point karthik. It’s really amazing to note that they are becoming more tech savvy when compared to us on their age. 🙂
      May be survival of the fittest..? 🙂

  2. Rengaraman Says:

    Forgot to add a point:
    Thanks for your quick response to this post. I just pressed the publish button and my inbox has been added with your comment. How come..? 🙂

  3. Karthik Says:

    i wonder how quick they are in learning. yday i was reading bharatiyars kavithaigal lil loudly. all of sudden she began to reproduce (ofcourse not clearly)… much much forward than us

  4. Karthik Says:

    i have enabled inform about new posts option so i am getting. also i am vetti at the moment

  5. Rengaraman Says:

    Nice to know about your little angel’s skills.

    //also i am vetti at the moment//

    LOL 🙂 I am happy that my blog serves its purpose.

  6. Karthik Says:

    hei i am planning to start a free online magazine . will you be able to give me a article on tamil on any topic?

Leave a Reply

